The Ideas Tool now allows participants (both registered and unverified) to comment on other participant's ideas in addition to voting for Ideas they like. Participant's can also add pictures when they contribute ideas.
These new settings are now available under the tool settings tab as shown in the illustration below. The option boxes, highlighted, Allow image upload and Allow comments should be ticked to allow participants to add an image to their idea and allow commenting on Idea's posted.
When image upload is allowed, the participants will see an option to 'Upload Image' when they add an idea, as shown below. They can click on the Upload Image icon, browse to the image on your computer, and upload it.
When the allow comments option has been selected, the participants will see an option to 'Post' a comment for an idea, as shown below.
Note: When a comment is added to an idea, the idea contributor will get an email notification informing the same. This is the default setting, and as of now, there is no option to deactivate it.
You can tag another person participating in the Idea by typing the @ symbol, followed by their screen name. As you type in the @ in the comment box, you will see a list of users who have commented on the idea. From this list, you can select the screen name of the user you wish to tag.
The tagged user will then receive an email that says they have been tagged in a comment to the Idea. They will also be able to click on the link 'View Comment' in the email, which will take them to the comment where they've been tagged.
Note: There should be at least one comment to tag a user.
The comments captured against an idea will be displayed in the idea preview as shown below.
By default only registered members will be allowed to participate and vote. Enable this if you would like if any community member to vote without logging in and participate with just an email and screen name.
Once a comment is posted, the participant has the option to edit as well. Open the idea and click on the dots in the right corner to view the options.
On clicking, the option to edit, delete and report can be seen.
The participant can then choose to click on Edit, to modify their own comment, click on Delete to permanently remove the comment, and use Report to notify us of an inappropriate comment. The option to edit their own idea will be available to the participant as long as their idea is on the project page.
A user (both registered and unverified) will have the option to vote for an idea as shown below but cannot cast a vote for their own idea.
Note: A user can comment and vote on ideas after scheduled voting has begun, but cannot add new ideas during the voting period.
Contact our support team if you need any further assistance via chat or email firstname.lastname@example.org